Njokuani: Illegal Blow by Eersel

One Ch Logo

UFC veteran and Muay Thai standout Anthony Njokuani was unhappy with the way his kickboxing rules bout with Regian Eersel ended Friday at the ONE: Call to Greatness event in Singapore.

The Nigerian fighter took to social media after the bout, and claimed “illegal elbows” from Lion Fight champion Eersel led to his stoppage loss.

In round two, Eersel unloaded with a combination that downed Njokuani. Njoukani was visibly shook, and counted out by referee Onari while still on his knees.

While elbows are permitted in ONE Super Series Muay Thai contests, the organization’s kickboxing bouts are governed by traditional kickboxing rules which prohibit the use of elbows or throws.

Njokuani told MMA website The Body Lock that he planned to appeal the Eersel loss.

It’s unclear what ONE’s regulations are regarding fighter appeals, but perhaps the league will order a rematch in the interests of fair play if they find an illegal blow caused Njokuani’s defeat.

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.