Friday Flurries: Thongchai Under Pressure, Artem Levin Staying Busy, Glory 53 U.S. TV schedule, US Fights this weekend

Doumbe Thongchai Poster

Thongchai Under Pressure
Thongchai Sitsongpeenong won’t just be fighting for a win when he faces Cedric Doumbe in the Glory 53 Superfight Series main event Saturday in Lille, France. The Thai veteran will also be fighting for his job. According to Glory Talent Relations chief Cor Hemmers, Sitsongpeenong needs an “impressive performance” or he may no longer be getting booked for fights in the organization.

“Thongchai has been told that. He’s been advised that GLORY doesn’t want to showcase this kind of fighting (heavy clinching). He needs to put on an impressive performance. If he doesn’t, we will likely release him. So he’s essentially fighting for his contract here in Lille,” Hemmers wrote in his Matchmaking Notes column. Thongchai was involved in some slow bouts in his most recent ring appearances, and it looks like the Thai is not in a must win position, but he must certainly throw more punches and kicks and clinch less. Doumbe has promised a more aggressive approach, so both fighters may attack more than normal, resulting in an action filled fight.

Levin, Ignashov Return May 30 in Moscow
New ACB KB Vice President and multiple time world champion Artem “The Lion” Levin has his next fight scheduled. Levin will face David Mirkovski of Poland on May 30 at the Zhara Fight event in Moscow, Russia. Levin won the ACB KB 85kg Title last month in Moscow with a points win over Igor Bugaenko, but has since been named a company vice president. Mirkowski is a KOK veteran who fights out of the Garuda Muay Thai club.

K-1 veteran Alexey Ignashov and Sergey Kharitonov are also scheduled to see action, while Zabit Samedov faces Freddy Kemayo in the main event. Ignashov won decision over Dzevad Poturak at Bellator Kickboxing 9 in April.

Here is the lineup (subject to change):
Zhara Fight
Wednesday May 30, 2018
Vegas City Hall, Moscow

Zabit Samedov vs Freddy Kemayo
Sergey Kharitonov vs. Frederic Sinistra
Alexey Ignashov vs. Valentin Bordianu
Mikhail Calyh vs. Reduan Cairo
Ramil Siyavush vs. Erkhan Varol

GLORY 53 U.S. Air Times
Here are scheduled U.S. air times for GLORY 53. The good news is ESPNews is showing the event live which hopefully leads to a bigger audience for the event. As always, air times are subject to change.

GLORY 53 Lille will be carried:
Saturday, May 12 at 3:30 p.m. ET / 12:30 p.m. PT – Live on ESPNews
Sunday, May 13 at 4 a.m. ET / 1 a.m. PT – ESPN2 Replay
Monday, May 14 at 9 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. PT – ESPN2 Replay
Sunday, June 3 at 5 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. PT – ESPN Deportes (Spanish-language broadcast)

U.S. Events This weekend
Friday May 11-Friday Night Fights Muay Thai, Lucky Strike in Manhattan, NY. 8 man 135 lb tournament plus some single fights. For more info, visit the Friday Night Fights website.

Saturday-Warrior’s Cup 36 in Atlantic City, NJ. The event takes place at the Showboat Hotel & Casino. Tickets available at deadseriousmma.com
Saturday-WCK Muay Thai: Proving Ground 4 in San Diego, CA. Visit WCK Muay Thai for more info.

0

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.