Glory 62 Updates: Heavyweight Tournament, Tavares Added to Card

Glory 62 Tournament Poster

Glory Kickboxing today sent out a press release with more information regarding the eight-man heavyweight tournament taking place at Glory 62. Glory 62 is scheduled for Saturday December 8 in Rotterdam, Netherlands.

Two more fighters have been added to the tournament. Hard-hitting Junior Tafa and Tomas “The Slovakian Giant” Mozny join top ranked Benjamin Adegbuyi, Jamal Ben Saddik, Jahfarr Wilnis, and Guto Inocente in the tournament field. The other two tournament participants will be announced later.

Tournament Seeding
Adegbuyi is the number one seed in the tournament, followed at number two by “Goliath” Ben Saddik.

Jahfarr Wilnis and Guto Inocente are guaranteed to be seeded either 3 or 4-their seeds and the remaining “tournament slots will be randomly selected during a press conference slated for later this year”.

bracket

As you can see from the graphic above, Adegbuyi will meet the number eight seed in the tournament first round. Ben Saddik will meet the seventh seed. Guto and Wilnis will meet the fifth and sixth seeds, depending on who is selected as numbers 3 and 4.

Prize Money
The winner of the tournament will a prize of $100,000. The runner-up receives $30,000. Every fighter who makes the semifinals is awarded $10,000.

Current Fight Card: Tavares Returns
As part of the press release, Glory announced that former Enfusion heavyweight champion Luis Tavares will make his return to the Glory ring at Glory 62. His opponent is to be announced. Here is the current fight card.

GLORY 62 Rotterdam
Heavyweight Tournament Final Bout:Bout E Winner vs. Bout F Winner
Light Heavyweight Co-Headline Bout: Luis Tavares vs. TBA
Heavyweight Tournament Semifinal Bout F: Bout B Winner vs. Bout D Winner
Heavyweight Tournament Semifinal Bout E: Bout A Winner vs. Bout C Winner
Heavyweight Tournament Quarterfinal Bout D: Seed No. 4 vs. Seed No. 5
Heavyweight Tournament Quarterfinal Bout C: Seed No. 3 vs. Seed No. 6
Heavyweight Tournament Quarterfinal Bout B: Seed No. 2 vs. Seed No. 7
Heavyweight Tournament Quarterfinal Bout A: Seed No. 1 vs. Seed No. 8

Broadcast Info
Good news for fans in the U.S.

Glory 62 will broadcast live on ESPNews starting at 2 p.m. ET / 11 a.m. PT. It’s also scheduled for a next-day replay on ESPN 2 on Sunday December 9 at 10 pm ET/7 pm PT. A Spanish language replay is also scheduled for ESPN Deportes on Wednesday December 19 at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.