GLORY 55 Fight Card

Glory 55 Poster
GLORY released the official fight card for the GLORY 55 event in New York. GLORY 55 takes place on Friday July 20 at the Hulu Theatre in New York, New York.

The two title fights were previously announced. GLORY Middleweight champion Alex Pereira of Brazil defends his crown against Yousri Belgaroui. This is a rubber match between the two 85kg rivals. Belgaroui defeated Pereira by unanimous decision at GLORY 40 in Copenhagen last year before Pereira gained revenge with a third round stoppage win over Belgaroui last December. Pereira’s victory was his first successful title defense after lifting the belt from Simon Marcus in China. Pereira was rumored to be jumping ship to the UFC after a picture of Pereira holding a UFC contract was posted on his Instagram account. However, the picture was quickly deleted and the rubber match with Belgaroui was announced. Belgaroui is coming off a one-sided second round TKO win over Dawid Kaspersky at the GLORY 53 Superfight Series in May.

In the other title bout, featherweight kingpin Robin van Roosmalen defends his title against Petchpanomrung Kiatmookao. It’s a rematch after van Roosmalen’s close majority decision win over the Thai last year. Petchpanomrung has won two consecutive bouts with exciting knockouts, but neither fighter was close to the caliber of champion van Roosmalen.

Former interim featherweight champion Kevin Vannostrand failed in his bid to unify the titles, losing to van Roosmalen by unanimous decision at GLORY 52 in Los Angeles in March. Vannostrand will face Massaro Glunder of the Netherlands, who fights out of the legendary Mike’s Gym. Glunder won his last fight for Glory in March. Recently, Glunder fought at the K-1 Featherweight Championship Grand Prix in Japan, losing on a questionable disqualification to Kido Yasuhiro. Glunder won his last GLORY bout in March.

In another bout, Elvis Gashi returns after a successful trip to England for a win over William Goldie-Galloway at GLORY 54. The exciting Gashi defeated the Brit by unanimous decision.

Here is the fight card (subject to change).

GLORY 55 New York Main Card
U.S. Broadcast: Friday, July 20 at 9:30 p.m. ET / 6:30 p.m. PT – Live on ESPNews
Sunday, July 22 at 9 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. PT – ESPN2 Replay
Sunday, Aug. 5 at 5 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. PT – ESPN Deportes (Spanish-language broadcast)

Middleweight Title Bout: Alex Pereira (c) vs. Yousri Belgaroui
Featherweight Title Bout: Robin van Roosmalen (c) vs. Petchpanomrung Kiatmookao
Featherweight Bout: Kevin VanNostrand vs. Massaro Glunder
Lightweight Bout: Elvis Gashi vs. Nick Chasteen
Featherweight Bout: Victor Pinto vs. Nate Richardson

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.