2018 GLORY Award Nominees Announced

Glory Logo

GLORY Kickboxing released the nominees for its 2018 awards earlier this week.

Fans can allow their voices to be heard by visiting the GLORY Kickboxing Instagram, Twitter, or Facebook pages and posting their votes.

This year, there are three nominees per award category for Fight of the Year, Fighter of the Year, Knockout of the Year, and Newcomer of the Year.

Here are the nominees:

Fighter of the Year

Alex Pereira-The Brazilian bomber had a solid 2018, retaining his middleweight title with a devastating first round knockout of top contender Yousri Belgaroui, then punishing Simon Marcus to defend his title by unanimous decision. Whether Pereira sticks around to continue his dominance remains to be seen. The champion expressed an interest in switching to MMA during an interview with a website earlier this year.

Petchpanomrung Kiatmookao-Petch became the second Thai to hold a GLORY title when he defeated Robin van Roosmalen by unanimous decision to win the featherweight title at GLORY 59. He’ll defend for the first time against former champion Serhii Adamchuk at GLORY 63.

Sitthichai Sitsongpeenong-The Thai continued his dominance over the GLORY 70 kg (lightweight) weight category in 2018. Sitsongpeenong successfully defended his title with decision wins over contenders Chris Baya, Tyjani Beztati, Marat Grigorian, and Josh Jauncey. Not only Sitthichai defeat all his opponents, all were clear victories with the exception of the Grigorian fight, where some observers thought the Armenian did enough to lift the title.

Fight of the Year

Josh Jauncey vs Stoyan Koprivlenski, GLORY 52 Los Angeles
Jahfarr Wilnis vs Benjamin Adegbuyi, GLORY 62 Rotterdam
Sitthichai vs Marat Grigorian, GLORY 57 Shenzhen

Newcomer of the Year

Hamicha-the newly signed fighter made a memorable debut at GLORY 62 with a high kick KO against Miles Simson.

Dimitrii Menshikov-young Russian fighter went 2-0 with GLORY in 2018. In his last bout, Menshikov dismantled Dutch veteran Robbie “The Rabbit” Hageman in one round at GLORY 62.

Asa Ten Pow-the American prospect won all three of his bouts under the GLORY banner in 2018. He impressively stopped veteran Justin Greskiewicz when he made his GLORY debut at GLORY 55 in July. A month later, Ten Pow defeated Yuhang Xie in China. Ten Pow won his last bout at GLORY 61 in November against Niko Tsigaras, and has displayed an exciting style during his appearances.

Knockout of the Year

Abdellah Ezbiri vs Victor Pinto, GLORY 60 Lyon
Alex Pereira vs Yousri Belgaroui, GLORY 55 New York
Petchpanomrung vs Abdellah Ezbiri, GLORY 53 Lille

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.